Continuously toggling a GPIO pin?

I’m just getting started with ESPHome but struggling to find the info i need for this simple project.

I would like GPIO Pin 7 (Wemos D1 Mini ESP32 C3) to go high for 5 seconds every minute and loop continuously. This is to drive a small fan (via a transistor) to pull air into a DIY ceiling mounted air quality and temp sensor. This is all based on several I2C sensors which i have working fine.

I tried using a simple Relay command but seems the loop has to be automated within homeassistant somehow, rather than the ESPHome code (as it would if this were a traditional arduino app). I suspect i’ve misunderstood but cannot find what i’m looking for!

Ideally, i would also like to sequence this, so that any of the per minute readings from the I2C sensors occur 20 seconds after the fan stops and the complete 60 second loop restarting. This would be to prevent any false readings while the fan is running.

I did read the following article but non the wiser! Any help appreciated, thank you.

GPIO Switch — ESPHome

1 Like

Can you set the duty cycle though?

Thank you @FloatingBoater, a great help and may do what i need. I have a similar question to @parautenbach - is it possible for on/off period to be different? i.e. 5 seconds high, 55 seconds low…

i assume there’s no possibility of defining where in the overall ‘program’ this happens to ensure the GPIO pin does not go high at the same time the 60s I2C sensor data is requested.

Many thanks
Ben.

I searched now a bit more out of curiosity, and it doesn’t seem like there’s a straightfoward, built-in way to do this (surprisingly so).

I think you might be able to simulate it with this: Sigma-Delta Output — ESPHome.

Or you could use a GPIO Switch — ESPHome and control it with ESPHome automations.

Making an output component could maybe work too: On for 5s, then off. Turn off with an automation on an interval. Template Output — ESPHome