Control central heater from HA

Hello,

I’m pretty new to the whole home automation subject, but I figured that since I moved in a house, now was a good time to give it a go. During the black friday craze, I spent a few euros on a conbeeII stick and a few aqara sensors as well as a yi camera, installed docker on my synology NAS with containers for HA, mosquitto and deconz, and all this looks like its working fine together (I wasn’t able to get the conbee to work with zha, but it’s working pretty nice with deconz, so whatever).

Now, my house uses a central heating system which is designed to be connected to a climate control unit through a “TT” connector. Since I already have a few temp sensors connected to HA, I’d like the control unit to actually be driven by HA, and since I already have a zigbee dongle, it would ideally use that protocol.

So I guess my questions are:

• What kind of hardware do I need ? I kind of understood I need a “Normally closed” switch or something like that. Pretty unsure, here.
  • Once that’s settled, does it exist in the zigbee market or should I look elsewhere ?

Thanks a lot for your help !

Alain

I use a Shelly 1 relay. You can interface it via MQTT or CoAP to HASS, it connects to your WiFi network.
I also use some Aqara sensors to get temperature/humidity information from the environment and make my heater/AC react consequently.

Hey, thanks for your reply. Indeed, the use of a switch looks promising, but I’m not enough of an electrical enthusiast to be certain I won’t mix things up and send mainline current into the heater “TT” connector.

Would you be so kind and confirm that if I connect the L et N connectors to mainline and the 0 and 1 connectors to the “TT” connectors of the heater, switching the relay on will only just connect the 0 and 1 together and nothing more (220V sent to the 0/1 connectors) ? And I’m not sure I got what the SW connector is for on the Shelly1 :-/

Thanks a lot for your help.