Control phone charger to prolong phone battery life

My last phone died due to battery failure so I want to try to prolong the battery life of my new phone. As an Android developer I am a heavy phone user and need to recharge it every day, which might be bad for the phone anyway but I need to make the best of it. Although I do not possess the physics background to check if the theory is correct that stopping to charge the battery when it’s at 80% charge will put less strain on the battery per charge cycle I will give it a try. I usually plug my phone in when going to sleep but instead of just letting it charge to full no matter what the current battery charge it, the following automation will only start charging the phone when it falls below 50% and will stop charging once it reaches 80%.

Used hardware/software

• Xiaomi Zigbee Smart Plug
  • Phone charger of choice, connected to the smart plug
  • Home Assistant companion app to act as the device tracker sending the battery data
  • Home Assistant automation interface (All of the below code can be clicked together in the UI, no need to write anything by hand)

Automation 1: Turn on phone charger
This automation is responsible for turning on the charger if the phone battery falls below 50% (20% would also be a good choice if you just want to follow the 80/20 rule). I played around with conditions for the device location here (e.g. if the phone is not home there is no use in turning on the charger) but with our local-only Home Assistant setup this is not relevant for us at the time.

- id: '1595610566823'
  alias: Turn on phone charger
  description: ''
  trigger:
  - below: 50
    device_id: 0bade40460214b3b91f7a531661a5d46
    domain: sensor
    entity_id: sensor.mi_note_10_lite_battery_level
    platform: device
    type: battery_level
  condition: []
  action:
  - device_id: fc1aef35dfca459799e9ab15a448e5b7
    domain: switch
    entity_id: switch.smart_plug_phone_birgit
    type: turn_on
  mode: single