Controlling Home Theatre Fans (Toasty cabinet)

Hey all, first post here! I am new to home assistant and smart home stuff in general. I have this project I am trying to do revolving around a home media cabinet. Basically, I want to control fans coming on in a home theater cabinet when a receiver is turned on. I have a PS5 and a receiver in the cabinet and it’s getting pretty toasty in there. So, I’m looking to install some fans and have them come on whenever the receiver is turned on. The receiver automatically comes on with the TV using HDMI CEC.

I’m looking for ideas on how to trigger these fans. Again, I’m pretty new to all this so please bear with me.

Could I trigger this with a smart plug that monitors the power of the receiver. Or should I just buy a temperature sensor, allowing it to be more dynamic and energy efficient. I don’t currently have any zigbee or z wave accessories but am not against them if I can make them easily work with home assistant.

Are there any product recommendations anyone can give? Btw, my receiver is a Pioneer VSX521. It does NOT have any usb ports - if that helps.

You know ac infinity makes sensor controlled cooling gear for this specific purpose and it works great even without all the automation stuff. The fans only come on when required and use pwm to run at only speed required.

2 Likes

Came to say the same thing.

I have this set that started in the top of one closet and is now in the top of another to provide exhaust for my network gear. They’ve been running for 5 years without a hitch.

https://a.co/d/8uhTkoa

I do something similar with my setup. I use a salus zigbee plug that could monitor temp and power.
I originally used the temp from the salus for a trigger which would power a USB plug and then several USB fans.
The temp was okay, but I soon realised that just turning on the USB fans when the amp was on was the easiest thing and I used only one plug for fans and amp