Converting Current Weather State to Number (for Solar Charger ON/OFF Automation)

I currently have some ESPHome relays that turn on/off some solar controllers based on whether the sun is above the horizon or below it.

I now want to create a better automation (that maybe requires creating a sensor or two?) that turns the relays on/off based on a numeric score ( as well as if the sun is above the horizon). I’m new to Home Assistant and definitely need help, especially with creating sensors/templates.

The step I’m stuck at currently is having Home Assistant check the current state of a weather API sensor (such as AccuWeather weather.home ) and then having it convert that state into a number --so that I can create an over-all number score for that weather sensor’s current state.

After accomplishing that, I’d also like to create a sensor that adds up an aggregate/total score of all of the individual weather APIs scores so that I can use an average of multiple weather APIs to make the determination.

Here’s what I’m looking to do …

For each weather API I would want to create a unique sensor, for example weather_score_accuweather could be the name and it would pull from weather.home Accuweather API sensor. Then weather_score_nws could be another, and so on.
If the current state is:
Unknown = 0
Rainy = 0
Cloudy = 0
Partly Cloudy = 1
Sunny = 2
Exceptional = 3

There are additional weather states that would need to have numbers assigned to them, but the ones listed above are most important to get started.

I have tried creating a Template Sensor and adding this to the “State template*” section but it doesn’t seem to work. The resulting value is always “0” and never changes (even when I temporarily assign unknown a -1 value for testing purposes).

{% set weather_state = states('weather.home') %}
{% if weather_state == 'Cloudy' %}
{% elif weather_state == 'Partly cloudy' %}
{% elif weather_state == 'Sunny' %}
{% elif weather_state == 'Exceptional' %}
{% else %}
{% endif %}