Correct way to implement home modes?

Good day, I am fairly new to ha and I would like to ask you more experienced users what is the correct way to go about setting up modes for my house.

In my mind I want the following modes.

Away,
Home,
Sleep,
Visitors,
Vacation

Each one of these modes would have different behaviors. For example set the alarm differently, it change schedulers for geysers if we have visitors, etc.

Should one use scenes for this? Or should one create binary sensors as variables which you can turn on and off? Is there maybe this sort of. Blueprint somewhere?

Really looking forward to hearing your advice and pointing me in the right directionā€¦

1 Like

I use input_booleans to set away mode and night mode. Automations and scripts check whether these are on or off before proceeding.

2 Likes

I use an input select. It can have as many modes (options) as you want.

Then use it in conditions or triggers in your automations.

4 Likes

And I use both! A Boolean helper for ā€œSecurityā€, and a Select helper for [Morning, Day, Evening, Night].

There is no wrong or right on this: find the way that works best for you and the way you think. And donā€™t be afraid to evolve the methods as you gain experienceā€¦ and complexity with your environment.

1 Like

Yep. There is no right way. I use none of them.

home/away is an automatic operation that is handled by the home being vacant ( motion/wasp/sensors) and people being away (companion app)
sleep is an extension of being home handled by time period and parts of my house being vacant, phones being plugged in, etc.
vacation is an extension of away and is handled by zone proximity/direction of travel greater than 20 miles for longer than x hours.

This all evolved. Just make a ā€˜saneā€™ approach and youā€™ll find youā€™ll refactor some of it as you learn and as you integrate more.