Create a "Birthday Reminder" Lovelace Card using Google Calendar integration

Original post: https://smarthomepursuits.com/how-to-create-a-birthday-reminder-lovelace-card/

In this guide, I’m going to show you how to create a “Birthday Reminder” card in Home Assistant in 2021. If you’re anything like me, remembering birthdays is something I’m not very good at it (other than wife and kids).

Getting alerts the day of a birthday is great, but it’s not great when you have to scramble last minute to find a gift. While there are a lot of ways to be reminded in advance, since we are in Home Assistant all the time anyway, I thought I would come up with a way to display birthdays directly in Lovelace. That way, anytime we open Home Assistant we have a subtle reminder.

To do this, we are making use of the Google Calendar Home Assistant integration and installing the Atomic Calendar Revive frontend integration.

Let’s get started!

Step 1: Setup up the Google Calendar Integration

If you don’t already have Google Calendar working with your Home Assistant, you can reference my step by step guide here.

Step 2: Create a new calendar

Go to https://calendar.google.com. For this, I am creating a brand new calendar specifically just for birthdays (rather than just adding birthdays to my existing calendar). Even though my Google Calendar integration already showed a “birthday” calendar, I couldn’t add events to it from calendar.google.com, so I just created a new one. The end goal is to just put all birthdays into calendar.

Why?

This will allow me to filter just that 1 calendar into the Lovelace card we’ll be creating later on, rather than displaying other calendar events within the card.

Under Other Calendars on the left, click the + button and Create new calendar. Name it “Birthdays”.

Once the calendar is added, create a few test birthdays. When adding new events, make sure to add the birthdays to the “Birthdays” calendar and not your default Google one.