Create "Current Temp" entity from air con

Hi all,

I’m new to HA and find it all a bit confusing, so this question may be simple and hope you can help.

I have an air conditioner integrated through Sensibo (boy was that an effort for me!). The device exists, but there doesn’t seem to be a current temp entity that I can use in other cards etc.

How do I take the data from one entity and split it so I can use it?

Many thanks

Your current temperature is probably an attribute of your climate entity, not a state.
So you need to create a sensor based on this entity.

This is what works for me:

- platform: template
  sensors:
    zone_1_temp:
      value_template: "{{ states.climate.lyric_12821706.attributes['current_temperature'] | float }}"
      unit_of_measurement: '°F'
      friendly_name: 'Zone 1 Temperature'
    zone_2_temp:
      value_template: "{{ states.climate.lyric_12821546.attributes['current_temperature'] | float }}"
      friendly_name: 'Zone 2 Temperature'
2 Likes

The only thing I would add is a state_class (for long term statistics) and a device_class (mainly for the icon, you could also just add mdi:thermometer).

Also please heed this warning when constructing templates:

https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/configuration/templating/#states

- platform: template
  sensors:
    zone_1_temp:
      value_template: "{{ state_attr('climate.lyric_12821706', 'current_temperature') }}"
      friendly_name: 'Zone 1 Temperature'
      state_class: measurement
      device_class: temperature
    zone_2_temp:
      value_template: "{{ state_attr('climate.lyric_12821546', 'current_temperature') }}"
      friendly_name: 'Zone 2 Temperature'
      state_class: measurement
      device_class: temperature
1 Like

Hi @tom_l - device_class seems to work fine but state_class causes an error:

Invalid config for [sensor.template]: [state_class] is an invalid option for [sensor.template]. Check: sensor.template->sensors->zone_1_temp->state_class.

And: