Creating a business around HomeAssistant

I’ve been running Home Assistant for a few years now and I think it’s added vallue is enormous.

For example I have automated my heat pumps to start heating / cooling the house, based on the power generation of my solar panels. Nobody seems to be doing this, let alone be as vendor agnostic as HomeAssistant.
In the Industry (Here in Belgium where I live) I see a lot of companies investing in technologies that sell and buy power from the grid depending on the price, to charge / discharge a home battery. But If you don’t have a battery…
I do acknowledge there are premium systems like Loxone, but they require your house to be wired a specific way and are very expensive.

I think there is a lot of bussiness value, and I’m wondering if anyone is caputuring it.

I do see the potential risks in a lot of business models, when trying to do something comercial with Home Assistant.
The most obvious one’s being stability, dependancy on third party API, support work.

But I see a lot of people around me who are very impressed and knowledgeable enough to get started on their own. But they just lack time and initial motiviation to get started.

My question in this post is simple, do you know someone who is capturing the value Home Assistant brings?

Besides that question, what do you think would be the best way to capture it?
I’d like to hear your thoughts and brainstorm further on them.

1 Like

My first thought is that the help desk part of this business would be excruciating.

My second thought is along with:
I do see the potential risks in a lot of business models, when trying to do something comercial with Home Assistant. The most obvious one’s being stability, dependancy on third party API, support work.

There is the insurance/liability costs of something like this.