Creating Virtual Switches

I’m new to HA but have been using OpenHab for several years. I got used to the idea of making virtual switches to control automations. Because I use OpenHab and now HA, to actually automate my home; the availability of virtual switches is very handy. (I moved to HA because OpenHab was not keeping up with changes to new integrations and device recognition)

For example, I have a routine that lights up a room when someone enters. I don’t want this for everything, just for when the maids are cleaning. Since they do not come during a specific time, and I’m not always home, being able to set a switch when I leave the house to govern this routine is very handy.

Another option is to use such a switch to disable some/all automations when there are workers around or I’m just away for a couple of days. Again, each routine would need to test this switch but that is easy.

I also automated heaters, fans, and blinds based on light, temperature, and sun location. But I also want to disable them when needed.

What do you all think? Is this something that is really needed or am I just one of the few with the desire to automate my house rather than just control it?

Ron

NOTE: After trying the “fix” provided by Tom_I, I have it working as expected. My failure was that I forgot that there are more than “adding card to dashboard” to get something to show up. I feel silly that I just did not edit the card and add the item. I guess being in too big a hurry to think was my downfall. Thanks to those who posted and I’ll try and slow down and think things through a bit better (NOT).

You can use a toggle helper for The same purpose.

I tried that but it seems a bit clunky. I want to have it show up as a switch so I can quickly see status. As indicated, I’m new to HA and there are a few things I’m still learning. a.k.a Helpers

Thank you,
Ron

Input boolean helpers do show up as toggle switches.