Custom Hardware Communication using MQTT

Hi All, I am very new to HA, so I’m not sure if this is the correct forum / category for my questions. I have created some ESP32 hardware that is publishing to mqtt in raw text data, not using json. I have added a sensor card to the dashboard but cannot get any connection to the mqtt broker. I add a sensor in config.yaml as below

sensor: 
  - platform: mqtt 
  name: "Tank 2" 
  unique_id: tank_2_level 
  state_topic: "Bills_Mesh/master/tank2/level" 
  unit_of_measurement: "%" 
  value_template: "{{ state.value.level }}"

I suspect the value_template is not correct but can’t find any examples to know what to use, all examples I have found are using JSON formatted data.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

What is published to Bills_Mesh/master/tank2/level?

We would need to see an example of the data published to the topic to be able to help you.

It should be something like :
Bills_Mesh/master/tank2/level 75.0

char tempString[8];
 dtostrf(incomingReadings.float1, 1, 2, tempString);
 reconnect_mqtt(); // Reconnect if we have lost connection to broker
 client.publish(incomingReadings.topic, tempString); // topic, payload

Last example on this page: MQTT Sensor - Home Assistant

Well that is not particularly helpful. we were after an example of an actual post to Bills_Mesh/master/tank2/level. But if it is a simple string, what @robertklep said!

Thanks Robertklep, I had seen that example before. Maybe I don’t need any value_template. But I can’t seem to get any data from the mqtt broker in HA. I get “unknown” for the sensor, or Entity is non-numeric".

Published to Bills_mesh/master/tank2/level : 0.00

Then you don’t need a value template. Or just use this is you want to.

value_template: "{{ value }}"