Custom modbus integration (AVE)

Hi,

I am new to Home Assistant and I am seeking for advice.

At my home I have installed a smart home system produced by AVE (an italian company) which handles lights (switches), covers (rollershutters) and thermostat trough an hub.

I want to integrate this system with HA, but there is no AVE integration yet; luckily it is possible to interface with ave hub with the modbus protocol. I have already positively tested some proof of concept code written in python (with pymodbus).

Sadly the official modbus integration shipped with HA doesn’t quite fit the schema provided by ave; for example the schema for the covers provided by the modbus integration provided only 4 states (state_open, state_closed, state_opening, state_closing) while the ave implementation has 5 different states (is_open, is_closed, is_opening, is_closing, is_halfway) and 3 different commands to control the cover (open, close, stop) on the same resister.

The modbus.switch integration almost works, but for a stupid bug on ave’s side, i need to issue any command twice, with a short delay between, otherwise the state of the switch is not correctly updated (the first command effectively turn on/off the switch, but the register used to represent the state does not change accordingly; the second command just force an update on the register and then physical state and digital state are aligned, all is fine in the world)

My question is, since I am new to this stuff, what is the best strategy to tackle this custom integration issue? Should I write my own custom integration, or there are other ways to achieve such result within HA?

I was thinking about copying and adapt the modbus integration repository available on github to fit my needs, and add it as a custom integration on my HA server.