Custom MQTT Ac unit

Hi,
I’m new in Home assistant world.
I’m trying it and it is very usefull.
I yet add some devices in my home and also MQTT switches to open my garage door with a self made opener (ESP8266).

I, also, made a self remote AC unit control with a NodeMcu. I use MQTT and a custom mqtt payload like this one:

{"deviceid":"37c055","powerToogle":true, "mode": "kWhirlpoolAcDry","temp":25,"fan":"kWhirlpoolAcFanMedium","swing": "false", "clock": "12:06", "ontimer": false, "offtimer": false, "sleep": false, "super": false}

I want integrate this one in Home assistant. Please can you help me to do this.

Thank you so much

I had good experiences using NodeRed with mqtt…is that an option? (i found it easier then configuring mqtt in yaml)

I have used Adafruit io broker.
I not know Node Red. So with nodered I don’t need to configure mqtt in yaml??
Please explain me
Thanks

NodeRed can send and receive mqtt payloads without yaml.

But in order to control it, you still have to identify the unit (entity) to HomeAssistant.
However, this is also possible with NodeRed (NodeRed entities can create sensors which are visible in HA)

Ok thank you for reply.
I want to control with Home Assistant the temperature, the fan, the mode ecc…
so it is possible to get this data from home assistant and then send it to node red??

NodeRed is a Addon for home assistant

Here is how to add an ac unit via mqtt. No need for node red at all.

Thank you for you answer.
But in this way I have to rewrite the firmware on the NodeMcu.
Actual firmware get in input a unique payload with the json I write in previous post…

As you mentioned you are using a custom mqtt payload hence I suggested to use NodeRed and not MQTT HVAC :wink:

Maybe something like this ?

Where swing is HA’s entity for HVAC swing switch, which should make it visible in HA

Ok thanks.