Custom TTS welcome messages for individual door lock key code users, via SmartThings bridge

I’m new to HA, coming from a SmartThings setup previously. One thing I find lacking in HA and OpenZWave is support for door locks. Sure, you can lock and unlock most models but a lot of the other info presented by the device isn’t made available. One feature I love in SmartThings comes from a custom SmartApp called “Lock multi user management with notifications and automatic relock”. Among other things it allows for different automations based on what user code was used to unlock a door. Because I’m not skilled enough to write something like that in HA or OZW, I decided to use my ST hub to make it happen.

First I link HA with ST, and for that there is the famous Smartthings MQTT Bridge. This makes all devices in ST available to HA and vice-versa. The next challenge is making the unique unlock events available outside of the SmartApp, where they are fairly limited. This was easily solved by creating simulated switches for each user, (“Unlock Trigger Mom”, etc), in the ST IDE and then setting the SmartApp to turn on said switches when the user unlocks the door. To make those events available outside of ST, I include them into the MQTT Bridge SmartApp. Great, now the events are exposed to HA!

In my config file I then setup automations for each user such that they are greeted by a custom message on the Google Home each time they unlock the door. It also resets the switch in ST so it’s ready to go next time. Pretty simple and looks like this for my son who happens to also be a Ninja Turtle:

- alias: Silas Unlock Routine
    trigger:
      platform: mqtt
      topic: smartthings/Unlock Trigger Silas/switch
      payload: 'on'
    action:
      - service: media_player.volume_set
        entity_id: media_player.living_room_home
        data:
          volume_level: 0.7
      - service: tts.google_say
        entity_id: media_player.living_room_home
        data: