Data_template multiple lines in if?

Hello guys,

I’m pretty new to HA but I’m really interested in getting the best out of it.
I stucked on a think I find really ugly about scripting, at least because I didn’t find a proper solution to it yet. Is it really not possible to make this look better or get rid of some if’s there?

That is what I want to achieve. I think it’s much more readable like that and avoids repetition

shield_up:
  sequence:
  - service_template: >
      {% if is_state('input_select.remote_sender', 'ADB') %}
        androidtv.adb_command
      {% elif is_state('input_select.remote_sender', 'Harmony') %}
        remote.send_command
      {% endif %}
    data_template: >
        entity_id: media_player.shield
        command: UP
        entity_id: remote.harmony_hub
        device: 59035175
        command: DirectionUp  
      {% endif %}

But I seem to have to do it like this because I read jinja2 or ha or whatever is the reason won’t take more than one line here

shield_up:
  sequence:
  - service_template: >
        androidtv.adb_command
        remote.send_command
      {% endif %}
    data_template: >
        entity_id: >
            media_player.shield
            remote.harmony_hub
        command: >
            UP
            DirectionUp

and even there you can see my problem because I don’t know what happens if I send the device data via adb to a device which doesn’t need it.

Can you tell me if there’s a better way to handle s.th. like this?
My Purpose is to have a remote for my shield but if harmony or adb for whatever reason is down (btw I prefer Harmony, lots faster) I want to be able to change inputs and use the other one instead.

Btw I tried a lot of things, read jinj2 and tried | instead of > to preserve spaces and even tried to get it to
work in the lovelace card which doesn’t seem to accepts templates, so I tried custom templates which lead to the same result + I don’t like logic in my ui cards :stuck_out_tongue: