Deconz(conbee 2) can't find Hue bulbs (solved)

Hi All,

This is the first time i’ve tried using the Conbee 2 or Deconz. When i try to add the Hue bulbs to Phoscon it just doesn’t find them. I’m relatively new to HA so i could really use some help.

Info:

• HA running on a rasberry pi 4 (this all works fine with many other devices).
  • New Conbee 2 connected to the USB 2 ports of the raspberry pi via a ~1m usb extension cable (less than 5cm from the hue bulb). Gateway listed as ConBee 2 version 2.05.75 / 3/8/2020. Device in config is “/dev/ttyACM0”, using the longer device id lists the device as a RasBee in Phoscon and also doesnt work.
  • 3x Hue bulbs (i believe gen 1) originally connected to the V1 hue bridge, all bulbs deleted from the hue bridge app to reset them. Tried turning these off and on before and during the lights scan.

I get the following error listed in the supervisor, not sure if it’s related:
20-05-12 02:46:16 ERROR (MainThread) [supervisor.api.ingress] Ingress error: None

I don’t have any other zigbee devices to test the conbee2 with. Any help before i pull all my hair out would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

I think this could be an issue. Have you tried it with the stick directly in the RPI usb2 port, without the cable? If that still doesn’t work you could try a laptop or desktop just with the deconz software?

Plugging the conbee directly into the Pi was the first way i tried, the results are the same.
I tried both usb 2 and usb 3 ports with and without the usb extension, no change.

I also tried all 3 ‘Device’ options taken from the supervisor hardware info:

/dev/serial/by-id/usb-dresden_elektronik_ingenieurtechnik_GmbH_ConBee_II_DE2153499-if00

• Device listed as RaspBee in Phoscon, no lights found

/dev/ttyACM0

• Device listed as Conbee 2 in Phoscon, no lights found

/dev/ttyAMA0

• Device listed as RaspBee in Phoscon, no lights found

I’ll connect the conbee 2 up to a PC and see if i can get it to work that way.