Dependency creep breaks usability

Just to set up a context: I have been using HA on Raspberry Pi 3B (and later 3B+) since 2017. I am not sure it was then defined as such, but today I believe it is called “core” distribution - i.e. I run it on Raspbian, in Python venv.

Since then I went through several OS upgrades, Python upgrades, and HA upgrades (with changing ZWave backend and what not) and it never was smooth, but somehow I managed. I run HA with some ZWave, Zigbee, BT devices and Philips HUE bridge with few bulbs. It is more a proof of concept setup since I do not do much automation around, just reading sensors and setting the thermostats and lights.

The last update to 2024.6.1 was by far the most difficult.

1. HA suddenly needed ffmpeg. I do not run any camera, or process any video stream on RPi (It would not make much sense), but for some reason it is a hard dependency.
    This is what gets pulled in on my RPi by installing ffmpeg:
pi@hass:~ $ sudo apt install ffmpeg
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Reading state information... Done
The following additional packages will be installed:
  fontconfig fontconfig-config fonts-dejavu-core libaacs0 libaom0 libass9 libasyncns0 libavc1394-0 libavcodec58
  libavdevice58 libavfilter7 libavformat58 libavresample4 libavutil56 libbdplus0 libblas3 libbluray2 libbs2b0 libcaca0
  libcairo-gobject2 libcairo2 libcdio-cdda2 libcdio-paranoia2 libcdio19 libchromaprint1 libcodec2-0.9 libdatrie1
  libdav1d4 libdc1394-25 libdrm-amdgpu1 libdrm-nouveau2 libdrm-radeon1 libepoxy0 libfftw3-double3 libflac8 libflite1
  libfontconfig1 libfribidi0 libgbm1 libgdk-pixbuf-2.0-0 libgdk-pixbuf2.0-bin libgdk-pixbuf2.0-common libgfortran5
  libgl1 libgl1-mesa-dri libglapi-mesa libglvnd0 libglx-mesa0 libglx0 libgme0 libgraphite2-3 libgsm1 libharfbuzz0b
  libiec61883-0 libjack-jackd2-0 liblapack3 liblilv-0-0 libllvm11 libmp3lame0 libmpg123-0 libmysofa1 libnorm1 libogg0