Deprecated attributes in scene?

I’m seeing this message in log:

The use of other attributes than device state attributes is deprecated and will be removed in a future release. Read the logs for further details: Scenes - Home Assistant

My Scene:

scene:
  - name: livingroom_movie
    entities:
      light.living_room:
        state: on
        brightness_pct: 1

This mean I won’t be able to use brightness_pct to set the light’s brightness for movie scene…

2 Likes

so don’t use brightness_pct and use brightness instead! (0-255 is the scale so use brightness: 3)

2 Likes

@DavidFW1960, thank you and that fixed the issue.

1 Like

I’m fairly new to Hassio but I’m also getting this in my logs when I use
transition:

Am I going to have to start using scripts if I want transitions?
Hopefully not as I have already built a bunch of scenes and it would just make things even more confusing to have some of these run through scenes and other through scripts… I like to build things out consistently so I can easily troubleshoot.

Any recommendations from the home assistant veterans? Should I run a script just to do the transition part of the scene?

I converted all my scenes to scripts. That is the only way to use transitions.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. I was hoping that wasn’t the answer because I liked the conceptual separation between scenes and scripts. Not a big deal I guess but disappointed nonetheless. I already created mini scripts that I activate from the scene but I have a feeling this will eventually get unwieldy and I will end up using scripts entirely like you suggested.

I really hate to tell you this… but… in 0.102.x you won’t be able to call a script from a scene.
I was doing that and it stopped working in 0.102
What they want you to do with scenes is set up your lights etc as you want them, then add those entities to a scene and it records the state in the scene. Then you can apply that scene in the future. Calling a script from a scene won’t work at all…