Determine power state via Device IP presence and then sync with homebridge

Hi guys,

I have a really crazy idea that seems straightforward in theory, but possibly not.

I have a dumb “smart tv” from Hisense running googleTV (worst decision ever) which has no CEC capabilities. I’m new to home assistant and running a straight Hass.io image on a Pi 2 - no VMs or the like.

I’m very excited by the homebridge integration have having Siri turn on my TV with my Broadlink RM mini 3. That part works well.

I’m wondering if there is a way that I could poll my network and if a specific IP address is found (that correlates to my TV), then mark the TV as being powered on. The desired end result would be that when I switch on the tv via remote then ask Siri or other to turn it off from it’s HA known on state.

I have just straight up commands for ‘tv off’ but I’m wondering if I can make it smarter.

(This also assumes there is no network connection while in standby).

Similarly, the CEC scan will tell me the power state of my connected Apple TV 4 - is there a way to sync this with the switch/homebridge power status. I currently use a play IR code to turn on the Apple TV.

Please excuse any ignorances - very new to this work and coding skills are mild.

Thank you :slight_smile:

Lint

This might work

thanks @RobDYI, that triggered my memory that I could possibly use the known devices from my router which is now setup.

So I think I can now rephrase my question - perhaps I should start a new thread but hopefully someone can help.

I can tell when tv is on or off by using known devices presence detection. The dashboard will show Home/Away.

So, how can I toggle my switch status from the home/away status of a device without actually firing the switch?

My very basic switch looks like this:

switch:

• platform: broadlink
    host: xxxxx
    mac: ‘xxxxxx’
    timeout: 30
    switches:
    tv_power:
    friendly_name: “TV”