Development with hass.io?

Hi, I’m new here. I set up Home Assistant with hass.io on my raspberry pi because the docs led me down that road and it seemed sensible. I later learned that hass.io uses some kind of packaging system, which makes it difficult to modify, but I don’t really want to start over. I’ve worked around this to do some small modifications by hacking through with my own python custom_component and extra_html_url for some frontend stuff.

Is there a way to make and test code changes with hass.io, in a way that can also be usefully presented to the community? (I’m also completely new to github.)

Anyone have any knowledge that could help me here? Even just “yup, don’t use hass.io if you want to write code” would be sort of useful.

Hi can you clarify by what you mean by ‘modify’? Develop new components?

More like, submitting bugfixes or new features to existing components. I guess developing new components is possible because I could make them as custom_components, right? I’ve been messing around with the frontend a bit (particularly the color picker) and the zha component to improve its interaction with my lights. Some of my changes are things that are probably only useful to me, but some might be useful for giving back to the community.