"Device was added insecurely" - Aeotec sensor

HA noob here (sorry…).

I had a messed-up HA installation and so i rebuilt it, nice and clean - 2022.2.1.

Added my Nortek Zigbee/ZWave USB hub. The Zigbee portion added fine; the ZWave asked me for a key but said it would generate one if left empty, so that’s what I did. (Since then have viewed the zwave config file and confirmed that there are keys in there.)

Added first device: ZWave Aeotec temp sesor: got the above error message. I’ve since deleted, readded, deleted the hub, readded it, restarted etc…no change.

Added second device: Fibaro water sensor. Worked in seconds. No issue at all.

Back to the Aeotec…I do remember that when I set it up the last time (albeIt in a 2021.x version) it forced me to enter a 5-digit key as a Device Specific Key. This time it did not do so…which is (presumably) why the error message above.

So, how do I fix this? Really trying to get going with this project and can’t get out of the starting blocks…sigh. Thanks in advance.

First, its not you. Its this dang sensor!

I am on my 3rd one of these things and they ALL do this nonsense. Somehow, miraculously I got the battery on one to report correctly but the other two still don’t but after removing them and readding them 23 times, the behavior you’re describing is consistent with my experience and this is how many tries later, I have overcome it.

First, go ahead and wipe the sensor out. Hold the action button for 15 seconds, wait for the 4 red flashes, let go, blue blight then 4 more red flashes to indicate factory reset is complete.