Did I just loose years of HA development?

I have been using HA for many years and I have a very elaborate setup with 34 integrations, 22 ESPHome nodes and a few other odds and ends. An now I have messed it all up (sad).

It started with me wanting to align the naming of the ESPHome nodes, I added consistent friendly names and used the recently added rename function for the nodes. The result looked great on the ESPHome cards. Then I tried to figure out how HA was dealing with these name changes with respect to the entity ID’s. I still don’t get the logic, but after two days it seemed more or less cleaned up. I was also able to fix the dashboards, the automations and the scripts. BUT I could not not get the configuration files fixed, I just could not figure out what entity IDs had changed in what way. I could not even figure out what still worked and what did not. It seemed hopeless.

So I gave up and decided to restore a backup from a few days earlier before I started all this. That got me into more trouble. After the restore the majority of the ESPHome devices cannot be contacted anymore. I will have to dig them out from all over the house to reprogram them.

Not sure where I’m going with this. Maybe some-one has some good advice. Maybe it is just a warning to others.

I have no idea what I will do next. I just don’t feel like starting from scratch.

Not too much help for you, but this is why running a virtualised environment makes sense. You could have copied your HAOS into another VM, make the changes, test and if things break bring the old instance back live.

All this takes seconds to achieve, assuming HAOS changes do not change hardware settings.

1 Like

That sound good (for if I ever have the courage to start with HA again). But would that not have the same issue? The changes to the ESPHome nodes are not compatible with the earlier instance.