Different actions for switch clicks

Looking for help,
I am relatively new to Home Assistant, but learn a lot from this forum.
I am stuck with a problem though. I have a xiaomi switch that I use to turn light on and off, now I’d like to use the double click feature to lower and rasise brightness of the bulb. So if I double-click the brightness goes to 125 and if I double-click again, it goes back up to full brightness 250. How to I go about doing that?

Thanks, Siento

I’m pretty new to HA too so there are probably better ways to do this but using 2 automations should work.

Automation 1;
initial_state: ‘off’
Set the brightness to 125 and toggle automation 1 and automation 2

Automation 2;
initial_state: ‘on’
Set the brightness to 250 and toggle automation 1 and automation 2

As I said there may be a better way but that should work.

I kinda get it. 2 automations with 2 different brightness settings. But hw do I toggle between the 2 automations?

Only one of them will be active at a time. The initial_state will set which one is active when home assistant starts up and each automation would call the automation.toggle service on both automations to switch which one is currently active. I’m not currently at a computer so I’m afraid I can’t really type it out at the moment but I’ll try and post something later.

Hey Cain
it would be great to see an example, because I’ve been trying for hours now, and still don’t get it :slight_smile:

Thanks

I just created this in the automation editor;

- action:
  - data:
      brightness: '250'
      entity_id: light.lounge_lamp
    service: light.turn_on
  - data:
      entity_id: automation.double_click_bright
    service: automation.turn_off
  - data:
      entity_id: automation.double_click_dim
    service: automation.turn_on
  alias: double_click_bright
  condition: []
  id: '1516150479187'
  trigger:
  - event_data:
      click_type: double
      entity_id: binary_sensor.switch_158d0001714111
    event_type: click