Difficulty implementing brightness controls - "expected int for dictionary value"

So I’m completely new to HA, and I’m just diving in.

I’m running hass.io on an a RP4 with the nortek Zigbee/Z-wave stick. I’ve added two Sengled Element Classic bulbs and a Hue dimmer switch. I’ve gotten the on and off buttons working famously, but I’m struggling with adding the dimming functionality.

I’ve tried what I’ve found in several other posts about dimming:

But I keep running into the same error - when I try to get the current value of the brightness, I repeatedly get this error:

Error while executing automation automation.ken_brightness_up. Invalid data for call_service at pos 1: expected int for dictionary value @ data[‘brightness’]

Here’s the device info:

2020-01-28 08_25_35-Home Assistant

And here’s my current automation. I’ve confirmed that hardcoded brightness settings work (e.g. 10, 255), and this was the simplest step I could think of to get the programmatic value and add 10 to it:

- id: '1580190674095'
  alias: Left Brightness Up
  description: ''
  trigger:
  - device_id: a772cc70a8e444fc946ef52b5b6d0d20
    domain: zha
    platform: device
    subtype: dim_up
    type: remote_button_short_press
  condition:
  - condition: device
    device_id: 20083f936bdb4194a9c7d123ec63e18a
    domain: light
    entity_id: light.left_level_on_off
    type: is_on
  action:
  - data:
      brightness: {{states.light.left_level_on_off.attributes.brightness + 10}}
    entity_id: light.ken_level_on_off
    service: light.turn_on

I fear I’m missing something very basic. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like
brightness: {{states.light.ken_level_on_off.attributes.brightness + 10}}

it looks like this to me.
All values in HA are stored as strings
You need to convert this to a number before adding 10 (question what happens if it’s already at say 250 and you add 10 ?)

Try : -

brightness: {{ states.light.ken_level_on_off.attributes.brightness | int + 10 }}