Disable/Enable Nest Camera Recording

New HA user. I’ve got the basic nest camera image on my states dashboard, but id like to be able to create triggers which enable or disable recording. Is this possible, and how can I do this?

1 Like

I’m also pretty new to HA, but from browsing the code a bit, it looks like the basic camera component does not provide a service to disable/enable recording and/or streaming (i.e., to change the state.) It returns the state as idle, streaming or recording, but has no provisions to change it. It would really be nice to have this feature.

FWIW, the basic Nest python integration already has the functionality to disable/enable recording (i.e., via the is_streaming.setter.) And the nice part of this is, when disabling/enabling recording via this method, the cache of the current settings (from the Nest Cloud API) will be cleared so the next poll will see the change of state. (Otherwise it could be up to 5 minutes before HA will be aware that the camera state has changed!)

What appears to be necessary is for components/camera/nest.py to add a method to the NestCamera class to set the recording state via a statement like self.device.is_streaming = true/false. It’s the layers above that that I’m a little foggy about.

FWIW, I was able to add a shell_command to change the is_streaming state directly to the Nest Cloud API (using a curl command), but as I alluded to above, HA doesn’t see that change for up to 5 minutes (because the base Nest class in components/nest.py maintains a cache of the last query from the Nest Cloud API by default for 270 seconds, or 4.5 minutes, and then the default polling in HA can add up to another 30 seconds to that.)