Disastrous update to 2024.6.0

Yesterday (late evening) I updated from 2024.5.5 to the latest 2024.6.0 somehow already having the feeling in the back of my mind that something would go wrong, and in fact it did go wrong, very wrong.

The update page stayed there for a long time, before I noticed that the update was not restarting HA.
Since the installation runs in a docker container (curse), and I am a noob using it, I started searching online for solutions.

• I restarted the whole machine - no luck
  • Tried to find some logs - no luck finding how to access them (by now midnight and tiredness already approaching)
    Then in a tiredness infused moment of genius, I decide to type what seems like an innocent command but in reality some sadists at docker decided that docker run in reality translates to docker f’up your container.

The result is that it pulled the latest image (which it should already had at this point) and now I have the onboarding page greeting me instead of what I have worked on for the past three years.

Moment of panic, do I have a backup?
Turns out I do, but more strangely, the samba network share, still shows the full HA folder structure config files, and backups of my good installation.

What is weird is that now the add-on page no longer exists in the settings page of HA.

The question now is, what do I do now?

• Is there a way to restore the container to what it was before?
  • Should I remove all docker containers and recreate them again?
  • Should I forget about docker completely and just run HAOS in a VM like VirtualBox? (when I installed HA this option was not available)
  • Other?

Keep in mind that I want to restore the backup from the previous installation as much as possible.

I think I have the same, but with VM.

EDIT: I see that after a very long startup, I have the web UI. Components are still coming up - taking minutes to start, though.

sorry I’m not sure I understand.