DIY Lux Sensor with BH1750 (Battery)

Hey, guys…

I’m really new to ESPHome and all the Arduino Stuff. I tried to search in the web, but didn’t find any satisfying solution, so you are my last help.

Im trying to build a Lux Sensor with a BH1750. The most important thing is, that I can use it with a battery ( I already built a wired lux sensor with a sonoff basic). I found a few guides how to connect a BH1750 to a wemos d1 mini or other stuff, but nothing decent for battery usage. It looks like the main problem is that a demos d1 mini drains the battery to fast (also with deep sleep).

Do you have any ideas how to realize that? I could use Wifi or a RF-Bridge for connection.

Im really stuck atm, and appreciate any help!

How often do you want it to report lux values?

Every 5-10 mins …
Maybe, if that is a possible, just when there is a huge change of the state (but I don’t think that this works, since it would „sleep“)

Back of the envelope calculation:

Every 10 minutes = 144 samples a day.

Lets say it is awake for 30 seconds to connect and report, that’s a total wake time of 1.2 hours a day.

Neglecting the sleep current (it is about a thousand times less), and assuming a wake current average of 500mA that is 0.6Ah of battery capacity required a day.

The average 18650 Lithium cell capacity is about 2.2Ah, it would run your sensor for under 4 days.

If you want wireless sensors go zigbee or zwave. Their transmitters are a lot more efficient than wifi.

1 Like

Nice analysis, however your wake current is way off, my D1’s pull less than 100ma when awake.
Also, if you’re interested in daylight values, 10 mins might be a bit too often, stretch it to 30 mins and your in the ballpark on battery but you’ll need to go bigger for longer run times. If the unit is going to be installed outside, why not pair it up with a smallish solar panel to keep the battery topped up…?