DIYOW Heating Automation Concept

This will outline my design for heating automation. I am a software engineer and a tinkerer and have always wanted to automate bits of my home. Once I had a few sensors on a Raspberry PI to create a weather station as a “mickey mouse” project I looked straight at heating control as the defacto home automation application.

I decided to go completely “clean room” on it. Build it up from scratch, not accept or limit myself to any particular convention or standard and not even look at what others were doing. Just starting from basic questions about how I would like to automate my heating and building it up.

In this way there are currently no immediate integration with HAss or OH or any other high level automation system. But I’m keen to see what can be done here.

Basic concepts:

• Data - anything that might be of use in the system. These come from places like:

• Sensor readings
    • Device states
    • etc.
    • Example: Heating Room Temp: 20.56*C
    • Example: Main Heating: ON
    • Example: Presence Paul: HOME
  • Demands - Demands are how the system signals that something is required. It provides a decoupling point between what is asking, what it is asking for and how the system can full-fill, or ignore that demand. Demands are:

• Timely - The have a timestamp when raised.
    • Expire - They have a life expectancy after which they are no longer effective.
    • Discretionary - The don’t have to be served or acknowledged.
    • Expiry is enforced for automatics, overridden for manual intervention.
  • Schedulers, Schedules and Conditions are the main automated mechanisms to raise demands given a set of conditions. Schedules are competing, layered and many can and will be active at anyone time.

• Schedulers fetch data and run a set of Schedules in order.