Do I really need a hue hub?

Edit: now I am thinking maybe there is a way to use the sensors on my cameras.
I am doing outdoor lighting with smart switches and want a light sensor with wifi but it seems the only option is Phillips Hue, unless I wire a sensor the light fixtures to the sensor or use them with Sonoff, but I am not an electrician and have no idea what I am doing to be honest with you. I don’t know if there is a way to use the phillips hue sensor with home assistant? I’m trying to avoid getting embedded in their expensive ecosystem because of one device… I know I could just do an automation to turn on the lights after sunset, but the issue is where I live clouds are a thing and we get thunder storms every week in the summer, so sometimes it is really dark before the sun actually sets. Does anyone know if it will work with the Hue Sensor or can recommend me something else? Thanks.

Also I know I could just wire $5 sensors to each fixture, but I am not an electrician and one electrician said they charge $70 Per set of lights, but that would cost us like $900 vs just using a sensor and installing smart switches then writing an automation.
(edit:) Also if the sensor can work without internet with just home assistant, that is preferred because of our garbage internet.

Also what light switches are the best value? I’ve considered some but I’m not sure yet. I do not need dimmable ones.

To get started could you just use the sun component and an automation?

You could have something like automatically turn on one hour after sunset and turn off one hour before sunrise (all customisable)