Docker executable problem

This is not a home assistant problem, rather a docker problem. I’m new to docker and am hoping someone here could give me a leg up. I’m installing the latest docker on ubuntu server 18.04.5. I have a co2/rh/temp sensor that I read over USB via:

git clone https://github.com/tomvanbraeckel/slab_ht2000.git

On my previous, non-docker install, I just git cloned that source and ran make to create the binary. My home assistant could then call this binary to read the sensor information. Easy peasy.

When I moved to docker, I mounted a file system so that the container could access and execute the same binary. However, some missing file or directory that the binary tries to find when it runs causes a failuer.

Running the command within the docker container:

/home/hass/dev/slab_ht2000/ht2000 
bash: /home/hass/dev/slab_ht2000/ht2000: No such file or directory

The error is not that it can’t find the ht2000 binary, it’s that when the binary runs, that error is thrown.

I’ve straced the file activity and compared the output from the failing docker command and the native command that works, but I still can’t find the problem.

The failing strace is:

execve("/usr/bin/docker", ["docker", "exec", "-it", "home-assistant", "/home/hass/dev/slab_ht2000/ht200"...], 0x7fd5bdc2d0 /* 19 vars */) = 0
faccessat(AT_FDCWD, "/etc/ld.so.nohwcap", F_OK) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
faccessat(AT_FDCWD, "/etc/ld.so.preload", R_OK) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
openat(AT_FDCWD, "/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = 3
faccessat(AT_FDCWD, "/etc/ld.so.nohwcap", F_OK) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
openat(AT_FDCWD, "/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = 3
openat(AT_FDCWD, "/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/libdl.so.2", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = 3
openat(AT_FDCWD, "/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = 3