Docker: HA or HA + HASSio

I’m a developer. Comfortable with python and linux. New to Docker, but comfortable learning.

I just installed HA via the docker install and have moved my whole zwave network to it. I’m in the process of setting up my automations. All good.

In the process I tried to run some ha and hassio commands. They don’t work. I then learned there is a separate set of code for running “supervised”. But this doesn’t run in the docker container. And perhaps running it in one was once but no longer supported?

This is all quite confusing.

Ideally, I’d like to run it easily in a docker container, with docker-compose, and then mirror that in other installs. I’d like to be able to get close to the metal, but don’t want to HAVE to do a whole bunch of complex docker stuff. (Which may be necessary for add ons?)

So the question: Before I get too deep should I bail on my install and redo with a normal home assistant install? It would be a bummer - my pi is set up all nicely now. But I don’t to keep pursuing the wrong path.

Insight appreciated!

-Confused

Have you read this? This appears to have started when you tried to run ha commands, which are indeed supported as part of a Supervised installation, but it’s more important that you know (and maybe say) what you want you want out of a Supervised install that you couldn’t achieve in some other way.

Many people run a Docker install similar to yours and have no interest in a Supervised installation because they can do what they want manually. I personally run a Supervised install in a VM on an Ubuntu x86 box because I want to run other things on the machine and I appreciate the user-friendliness that Supervised brings. You’ll need to decide what’s best for you.

In the end, you can always pack up your /config directory and move it to a different install type, so you won’t lose anything by deciding later that you want to try something else.

1 Like

That was helpful - thanks!