Docker on Mac install: Front end nowhere to be found

Hi folks! I’m a HomeAssistant noob hoping to find some help.

I just installed HA in Docker on a Mac running Sierra. I had to reset Docker a couple times and get the Shared Files stuff worked out, but after that, the installation seemed to complete without a hitch. Configuration.yaml is right where it should be.

But there’s no front end. I’ve tried loading it via localhost:8123, Mac’s-LAN-IP:8123, 127.0.0.1:8123. I’ve tried entering the URLs as both http and https. I’ve tried it in multiple browsers. The Mac’s firewall is turned completely off.

After it failed to load, I went ahead and made a few tweaks to the config and restarted. No joy. Same result.

Thoughts?

How is your network setup for this container?

Generally, each container is given its own IP address. You can make your container use your networks IP address by using the --net=host flag.

You should be able to see what the IP address of your home assistant container is, by running

docker inspect home-assistant

Where host-assistant is the name you set using the --name flag in your original docker run command. If you didn’t set one, you can see what it is (and if your Home Assistant container is running) by using the command docker ps.

Once you have the IP address of your Docker container, you should be able to access it by that IP address, ir 172.0.0.1:8123.

Hope that helps

Big thanks for the response, Phil. Here’s the run command:

`docker run -d --name="home-assistant" -v /Applications/home-assistant-config:/config -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro --net=host homeassistant/home-assistant`

And here’s the network settings portion of ‘docker inspect home-assistant’ results:

When I removed the --net=host flag, the process assigned an IP of 172.17.0.2, but that wouldn’t load, either.