Does every sensor have a battery_level attribute to use for Automation?

Hello everybody :wave: ,

I want to automate a few covers and sensors for the window-position, so the covers and windows do not damage each other when opening and closing automatically in the morning and evening.

I’m quite new to HA, but I already set up a RasPi and simulated a binary_sensor for the window-position and a cover.
Also I developed automations to open the cover in the morning and close it in the evening (IF the window-sensor says, that the window is closed).
Even SMTP-Mails are sent, if the window is open in the evening.

My only problem left is how I can make sure, that the cover will never close, when the sensor-battery goes empty some day!

Cause this would be a pretty expensive mistake…

Now I wanna order my first real physical sensors and I want to buy sensors that do report the battery_level, so I can use it for an SMTP-Mail-automation to notify for changing the battery.

So my question is, does every battery-powered-sensor actually report the battery_level-attribute, or are there differences between z-wave, zigbee and WiFi or even cheap and expensive sensors?

Or do you already know good WiFi-sensors which report the battery_level?

I think I can only use WiFi-Sensors, cause my home is a long building and there are long gaps between the covers, which I wanna automate. Maybe to big for Z-Wave and ZigBee. But I do have WiFi-repeaters.
For the cover I wanna use Shelly2.5.

thank you all
Greetings Peter :slight_smile:

The key here is you asked ‘does every’

There are few absolutes. Devices support what they want.

Now do Most? Yes most battery powered sensors provide information on battery levels.

The problem is its RARELY anything close to accurate and ‘depends’ on a ton of variables. You can’t just get a ‘oh there’s 5% remaining’ reading and call it a day.