Does Google TTS to Google Home require HA to be available off local network?

Hi, I’m new to Home Assistant. It’s been great so far. I’ve been trying to play with TTS to no avail. My installation is only available on my local network and I’m not using SSL. I am unable to use TTS on a chromecast or to any of my google home and mini units. I get no sound. I have tried by going to the relevant media player in the UI and just typing in the text. I get the wakeup ding from home units, but no speech. I can see that the speech files are properly created and play in a web browser when I use the URL to the file I see in the logs. It is using my local IP in the URL. Does Google need it to be externally accessible for this to work. My relevant config:

tts:
  - platform: google
    cache: true
    cache_dir: /tmp/tts
    time_memory: 300

I have not set a base_url in my http: config. Althought I tried that to no avail. From the logs, the right URL seems to be sent… Thank you

1 Like

My Googling leads me to believe that the issue might be gardcoded DNS servers in the google devices. If true, my internal ip will not resolve. Might need to configure my router to force LAN devices to use my DNS. Will give that shot when I get time…

I forced all devices to use my local DNS, and that still didn’t fix the problem. I found a firewall rule on the machine that was blocking the cast devices from receiving the tts file from Home Assistant. Once I get that sorted, all was good.

So, to answer my own question you don’t need to have your files be accessible on the Internet for TTS to Google Home to work.

1 Like