Does Hassbian require an entire Pi3+?

Hi All,

I am very new to the world of home automation so I have some very basic tinkering skills. I have recently flashed all my sonoff devices to Tasmota and wanted to give Home Assistant a go. I bought a news Raspberry Pi but on installing Hassbian - I realised that I could not really use my Pi for anything else…does Hassbian need an entire Pi? Is there any other way around this?

I wanted to use the Pi for OpenVPN and other smaller projects.

Hope you could assist me - I am sure that this has been asked before, if you could point me the right direction, I would be super grateful.

Eh?

Hassbian is just raspbian with home assistant setup for you in a python virtual environment. You can quite literally do anything else you like that you can do on raspbian…

Until you run out of resources…

1 Like

well yeah, but it seems like everyone has to learn this on their own. Not sure if it’s just stubbornness or just being cheap. LOL.

1 Like

I have an RPI3b. Rapsbian is installed.
HA is on a venv. I have more than 100 automations running on it. Also too many components setup. I cant really count everything (a cool tool that can tell you this kinda info would be great!) but I can tell you I have HA for almost everything in my house.
Beyond that, I have installed Motioneye on the Raspbian and I am motion detecting through 2 IP cameras @ 640*480 and of course recording.
I cant really tell you how many things I have setup on my Rasbpian, but they are some sort of basic stuff I need for my home network.

All these things eat almost 40% of my CPU.
Without motioneye the CPU runs at 10%. So I think HA is super-extra-duper-light :wink:

You may be confused between hassio & hassbian.

Hassio pretty much locks you into only being able to put hassio (plus add-ons) onto your Pi and that’s all.