Dual state button from scripts to open and close shades

Hello everyone, I am new to Home Assistant and I am struggling to create a button to open and close my shades… I was able to create the service and an open button and a close button… but I can’t figure out how to create the open / close on the same button… the open / close calls to a service connected to a broalink RM4-pro and works perfect…

Buttons don’t have states, they just generate events. You could try an toggle helper (input_boolean) instead - that would have on or off states.

In addition to what @Stiltjack suggested, you have a couple of other options as well:

• Create a switch template take have more control over how you work with the device and to give you a dual state (toggle) behavior. This is the same result as suggested but gives you more control.

• Instead of a switch template, use a cover template instead, this would be more in line with what you are needing with the added benefit of you being able to define things more granularly such as opening to a particular percentage (even if the shades don’t support it natively). This is how I do it on unsupported devices.

• Use conditional cards in your dashboard on your two buttons so that only one is visible at a time, this provides a psuedo-dual-state behavior in your dashboard.

thank you Stiltjack

Thank you CO_4X4

I have no idea how to make the cover template I will do some research on that, I would love to open the blinds partially like you mentioned…

You could also add an if block in an automation and check the state of the shades and thus have a toggle action as well. (if shade == open then close else open)

Thanks code-in-progress but the blinds are IR (remote) and do not return the state