Dumb question from new guy

Hello – I am new to HA, and have a likely very dumb question about how it all works. So here it goes…

I have a home network with a wireless access point (WAP), and several Apple HomeKit compatible light switches. If I install HA in a Raspberry Pi, or some other dedicated server, and connect it to my LAN via an ethernet wire, how does HA communiate with my switches ? Does it do it via my WAP ? or do I need to add a WiFi to the RP or server ?

…told you dumb question…

Nothing dumb about this question.

Try reading this for a start… :wink:

If your Wifi and your wired LAN are both managed by the same router and same IP range, it will work fine.

It’s actually a good question

A very basic way to explain it is HA as your mobile phone, and Apple homekit as an app on your phone.

Lan is best for PI4, it has wifi built-in but is disabled by default, I think.

HA will also allow you to add more “apps” without the need for so many different bridges to communicate from one companies device to another companies device. For example, a Flic 2 button to start your Ford car, or your homekit switches to turn your Ikea lights on or off.

Thank You much to Both for the feedback !!

… a bit more explanation of where I am in all this – I have found about HA very recently, and while I am not anywhere near set-up yet, I am trying to learn about it so I can figure out if it will do what I want/need. I have seen the HA-Blue and HA-Yellow hardware kits, and also understand that HA will run on any x86 computer, either natively (like in a RPi), or as a VM on a server machine…?

So now I know that the HA server will find my WAP (same VLAN/LAN) and communicate with my switches/sensors via the WAP. Have always wondered how HomeKit reaches my switches, is it directly via the WiFi in my iPad, or iPad Wifi → LAN via WAP → WAP to switches…