Dynamically Update Entity ID State - need help

I have some code where I’m able to dynamically build an entity id and store it in a variable. Is there a way to then update the state of this entity by passing in this variable? It seems that call service would allow me to change the state, but I cannot pass the entity id to this node. I have to select the entity id manually in the node…

I’m not a programmer just know some scripts… so I figured there may be a way to do this in a function but i’m at a loss…

Of course you can pass the entity_id dynamically. Put it msg.payload.data.entity_id.
This if you want to use the previous msg to carry the entity id, you can use flow context (variables) to expand in the data field, just tick the render templates, and use the mustache syntax

Before you do that make sure your flow is entity proof, so basically don’t send the payload without entity id or you’re gonna start seeing funny things happening.

1 Like

awesome, thanks. Took a lot of trial and error to figure out I had to put my string into an object (then had to figure out how to do that), but got it working. Awesome, appreciate it.

I would like to see an example of that code. :slight_smile:

It basically starts with how I label my entities. I have to use a consistent format. For example:

these specific lights start with ‘lt’, this tells me it’s for the litetouch lighting system. This light template reviews the status of an input_boolean. To turn the light on and off I call a script and pass data to the script. I’m telling the script which light keypad I’m using and which button.

lt_19_3:
  friendly_name: Study
  value_template: "{{ is_state('input_boolean.lt_19_3_boolean', 'on') }}"
  turn_on:
    service: script.light_onoff
    data:
      keypad: 19
      button: 3
      entity_id: "light.lt_19_3"
  turn_off:
    service: script.light_onoff          
    data:
      keypad: 19
      button: 3
      entity_id: "light.lt_19_3"

Input boolean

lt_19_3_boolean: