Edgerouter - Virtual Box issue - HA cannot access internet

Hi,
Yesterday I introduced an edgrouter x into my network as my main (single) router and it works great. but since then it looks like now my HA running on virtual box VM cannot get out to the internet, unable to connect to nabu casa, get weather , run speedtests, backup to google cloud etc.

i can access HA through its normal IP address and it works internally but cannot get any data from the outside.
i have not changed anything in the edgrouter basic setup wizard, and all other devices on the network can access the internet just fine.
i can ping the HA IP and get a reply no problem.

im no expert with these routers for sure, when i ‘show arp’ for connected devices , the HA IP address is not listed . . .

tried restarting the ERX and Virtual Box and HA. still no luck.
also cannot putty into HA now.

Do i need to add some specific rule for HA in the edgerouter??

Thanks for any assistance.

1 Like

Have you forwarded all relevant ports? I use an EdgerouterX also, works very well, no HA access issues.

which ports?
i cant recall having opened any on my last router…

All ports that you use for HA, primarily 8123 and add-ons. For remote SSH access you’ll need 22 etc.

1 Like

thanks heaps for the feedback @kanga_who
i opened those ports and still nothing.
i restarted HA and it took a long time to restart , about 5 mins, but it did eventually restart. not sure if that was related.

Is the machine running HA listed in the IP leases?

Services----->Actions----->View Leases

i have mapped it to a static IP address and is listed in the static IP address list.
i can go to that IP 192.168.1.190:8123 in my browser and see HA. i can ping this IP as well.
When i list the ‘show arp’, 192.168.1.190 is not listed???
driving me crazy!

1 Like

Do your settings here look like this?

Do you have the HA machine plugged directly into the EdgerouterX, or through a switch connect to the router?