Emulated Hue - "only local IPs allowed"

Hello,

I’m new to HA. I haven’t had too many problems so far connecting zigbee and z-wave devices. I’m to the point where I want to have some of these devices controlled via Alexa (without having to pay for a monthly subscription). I have added the following to the configuration.yaml file to enable Emulated Hue.

emulated_hue:
host_ip: 11.0.0.35
listen_port: 8300
expose_by_default: true

When I tested the URL to see if the devices are exposed i get the following response:

{“message”: “only local IPs allowed”}

I’m currently in the local network configuring from (11.0.0.9) and not sure whats blacklisting my IP.

I’m running a RPi 3B+ 32Bit HA with HUSBZB-1 gateway.

Any help is much appreciated.

You are using a Department of Defense ip address range at home!

You should be using one of the private address ranges. In your case, the easiest may be to change the first 11 to 10

https://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-11-0-0-0-1/pft?s=11.0.0.35

I have the same problem and this is the only topic that comes out from searching. Mine network is 55.55.1.1/255 and when i’ve searched on the whois db it comes out as some usa military shit again… I cannot change my whole network with a snap of my fingers and i cannot wrap my head around the connection of the private ips and networks with the public ones and even emulated_hue component???
Is there another solution or the solution is dead in the water?

looks like this is a restriction from home assistant. Debugging into the code shows that home assistant only allows the following local networks and there’s no way around it.

"""Network utilities."""
from ipaddress import IPv4Address, IPv6Address, ip_address, ip_network
from typing import Union

# IP addresses of loopback interfaces
LOCAL_IPS = (
    ip_address('127.0.0.1'),
    ip_address('::1'),
)

# RFC1918 - Address allocation for Private Internets
LOCAL_NETWORKS = (
    ip_network('10.0.0.0/8'),
    ip_network('172.16.0.0/12'),