Enable/Disable automation flow for a room in Node-Red

Hi community!

I’m very new to Home Assistant, so my question could be very simple/dumb.

I created a temperature sensor in my basement and smart switch that controls heater. Everything works fine. Recently I discovered a node red plugin and created “logic” that enable/disable heater’s switch based on temerature sensor and current time. The flow also works fine.

Now I want to create a “logical switch” that enable disable the flow. For instance, if I’m on vacation I don’t want the whole automation to run. How should I do it?

I read about input boolean and specified it in configuration.yml:

input_boolean:
  basement_automation_value:
    name: "Basement automation"
    icon: mdi:switch
    initial: on

However, I have 2 problems:

1. Even though I can add the boolean to home screen I can’t toggle it
  2. I can’t add logic in Node-Red based on the boolean

What am I doing wrong?

Your help is very appreciated

Hi there…Please share the flow and also the code that you have used to deploy the button in home screen. Without it, we might have to start from scratch. You can share the code in nodered by selection the flow and pressing CTRL+E.

The flow doesn’t have the boolean input yet. That’s what I’m trying to add. Currently, it looks like

[
    {
        "id": "bf2970e6.9084c",
        "type": "tab",
        "label": "Basement Automation",
        "disabled": false,
        "info": ""
    },
    {
        "id": "f4afaeb3.4b894",
        "type": "poll-state",
        "z": "bf2970e6.9084c",
        "name": "Too Cold?",
        "server": "50ca6ff0.8283b",
        "version": 1,
        "exposeToHomeAssistant": false,
        "haConfig": [
            {
                "property": "name",
                "value": ""
            },
            {
                "property": "icon",
            }
        ],
        "updateinterval": "60",
        "updateIntervalUnits": "seconds",
        "outputinitially": true,