Energy consumption miscalculated by Gosund EP2 or HA?

Hello HA team!

This is my first post. I am pretty new to HA, I have been fooling around for some months and whenever I can I try to learn something new.

Little description of my current “problem”:
I have several smart plugs Gosund EP2 flashed with Tamosta. Tasmota is sending watts consumption (among others) every 10 seconds to my HA through MQTT and it also sums the daily consumtion on its own. Until here everything is working just fine.

Until…

Today I decided to check the consumption of my washing machine, so I exported the data gathered by HA into excel, made some calculations and compared them with the data provided by Tasmota. To my surprise there are significant differences between both systems:

Lets explain the results with some details:

First image - Initially I saw the watts consumption through the graph provided in the history of HA:

Secong image - Then I exported the data from home-assistant_v2.db to excel and made the graph to see if they were the same (which they were):

Third image - Once in EXCEL I calculated kWh using three methods: mean kW x total time in hours, sum of W x time (10s) for every data point and finally the area under the curve with a trapezoidal approach. All three methods provided similar results with a value of 0,46 kWh (+/- 0,01 kWh).

Fourth image - If we compare the previous results with the provided by Tasmota with a value of 0,57 kWh, we can see that HA underestames by a 20% or rather Tasmota overestimates (Energy Today) by the same percentage.

Conclusions:

• 20% is not a small misscalculation, it is rather significative.
  • This may happen because HA is receiving data every 10 seconds (Tasmota does not allow a smaller TelePeriod) and is loosing some data points?
  • On the other hand Tasmota is reading in “real time” and is more accurate?
  • Perhaps I made some mistakes or I am missing something?