Entity_id - how do you find it?

Hello for all!

First of all let me introduce my self. I am senior Python developer. 6 months ago I have moved in to the new house which is totally smart. I choose Fibaro system back then as it looked much more complete then any open source project. I have over 50 zwave devices connected to my home zwave network. Unfortunately Fibaro home center hub just died a month ago. Never the less I already hated it because of the things you can’t do with it and because of many bugs, phone battery draining etc… Peace of shit. Just like Microsoft software… So I started looking more seriously in to open source projects and found this. I thing it’s just totally amazing! Already love it. This is what I really need!

So, having said that… I have plenty of experiences in home automation, python, open source project, etc… I find Home Assistant amazing, but after reading all the documentations, examples and even some part of core code I am still puzzled… Where do you get entity_id of a device? Entity_id of a device is a core peace of information yet there is zero information on how to obtain it once you connect a device to HA. Is there a way to change it? If yes, then how? These questions frustrated my initial experience since the very first moments I started reading through the docs…

3 Likes

In the left sidebar, under the Developer Tools, click on the States icon which looks like “< >”. Then, on the right of the page, you will find a list of all known entities (entity_ids).

Whether or not you can change these entity_ids depends on the device. For example:

• the entity_ids of Philips Hue light bulbs are based on the name you gave the bulbs in the Hue app.
  • the entity_ids of sensors, switches, input_booleans, etc…you create in the configuration file you can obviously choose the name of yourself.