Error on light template into configuration.yml

I am new to HA and a question about the light entity.

On several websites i see HA tutorials using the light entity for testing automation.
This light entity is missing on default installation.

So i copied the Light-template

into my configuration.yaml file
After restarting i get an error, and i have no clue what is wrong.

The system cannot restart because the configuration is not valid: Invalid config for [light.template]: some but not all values in the same group of inclusion ‘effect’ @ data[‘lights’][‘theater_lights’][]. Got None. (See ?, line ?).

It’s a simple copy paste action, and The yaml ident looks allright to me

My configuration is 2021-7.3 on VirtualBox
Does anyone also had these issues?
What do i wrong?

Regards,

Jan de Vries

1 Like

That yaml is not cut and paste unless you have the entities supplied in the light template. There looks like 7 required entities.

Thanks but

When i remove line
effect_list_template: “{{ state_attr(‘light.led_strip’, ‘effect_list’) }}”
and the last 7 lines of that file, i have no errors anymore
And i see a entity called “Theater Lights” in the ui.
And the restart is succesfull.

Also other template like “lock” and “fan” can be copied pasted, from here

Regards,

Jan,

That field still needs a list to work from and if you don’t have light.led_strip it’s not going to work. Let alone the rest will not work if you don’t have the other entities. It just so happens that this template field requires a list and you’re returning nothing.

If you want it to work, you have to have the entities.

Also, the way you’re going about this is flawed. You’ll never learn the system if you just copy/paste things without adjusting it to your features.

I suggest you explain what you want to do, and then we can help you get there.

Ok Petro thanks.

I want to learn HA, just fom the basics. So i watched several video’s.
Like this one and some others.