Error when following "Set up Development Environment" guide

Hi All,

Thanks for Home Assistant - really, it’s quite awesome. I’m relatively new to using it and to the point where I would like to start contributing. I was able to successfully go through the “Set up Development Environment” guide (link) up the point where it says to run ‘script/setup’. This setup script does execute but eventually errors out and I don’t know what to do now.

Below I pasted the last bit of the script where it works and then eventually fails. (searching for ‘error’ in this text will highlight the problem) I’m running this on a clean, standard Debian installation in a virtual environment. If there is any other information that would help diagnose this problem, let me know what to provide.

Many thanks.

Complete output from command /home/wappenkunde/venv_hass/bin/python3 -u -c “import setuptools, tokenize;file=’/tmp/pip-build-_e_pq96e/sphinx-automodapi/setup.py’;f=getattr(tokenize, ‘open’, open)(file);code=f.read().replace(’\r\n’, ‘\n’);f.close();exec(compile(code, file, ‘exec’))” install --record /tmp/pip-15mygwg0-record/install-record.txt --single-version-externally-managed --compile --install-headers /home/wappenkunde/venv_hass/include/site/python3.4/sphinx-automodapi:
running install
running build
running build_py
creating build
creating build/lib
creating build/lib/sphinx_automodapi
copying sphinx_automodapi/automodsumm.py -> build/lib/sphinx_automodapi
copying sphinx_automodapi/smart_resolver.py -> build/lib/sphinx_automodapi
copying sphinx_automodapi/autodoc_enhancements.py -> build/lib/sphinx_automodapi
copying sphinx_automodapi/utils.py -> build/lib/sphinx_automodapi
copying sphinx_automodapi/init.py -> build/lib/sphinx_automodapi
copying sphinx_automodapi/automodapi.py -> build/lib/sphinx_automodapi
creating build/lib/sphinx_automodapi/tests
copying sphinx_automodapi/tests/test_automodsumm.py -> build/lib/sphinx_automodapi/tests