ESP Home + Temperature sensor + WS2812 LED strip colour change + Lambda

Hi there,

Currently having a bit of an issue with compiling code / configuration file for a simple colour change LED strip.

I’m using the FastLED library + ESPHome (to which i’m new to) + a dallas I²C temperature sensor.

I can get all working independently but not together. I have some basic experience with ESPHome but as I’m new to it, I don’t understand enough to troubleshoot it myself.

What I would like help with is if someone could point out where I’m going wrong with the code I’ve written.

I’m trying to get the WS2812 strip to change to some colour as temperature changes - at this stage all I want to do is to see it change rather than change to any specific colour.

As I understand you can do so with writing lambdas (C++, I haven’t done any since the university days so its been a while!), but I keep getting an error saying that ESPHome can’t read my temperature sensor as it hasn’t been imported into ESPHome - See below

The following is my config (using an ESP-01 module):

esphome:
  name: led_ring
  platform: ESP8266
  board: esp01_1m

wifi:
  ssid: ""
  password: ""

ap:
    ssid: ""

captive_portal:

logger:

api:

ota:

dallas:
  - pin: GPIO2
    update_interval: 4s

sensor:
  - platform: dallas
    address: 0xE73C01B556F75828
    name: "Probe Temperature"

- platform: homeassistant
    name: "Probe Temperature"
    entity_id: sensor.probe_temperature

light:
  - platform: fastled_clockless
    id: my_light
    chipset: WS2812
    pin: GPIO0
    num_leds: 92
    rgb_order: GRB
    name: "FastLED WS2812 Light"

effects:
       - addressable_random_twinkle:
       - addressable_fireworks:
       - addressable_flicker:
       - lambda:
          name: My Custom Effect
          update_interval: 1s
          lambda: |-
            	static int state = 0;
            	auto call = id(my_light).turn_on();
            	call.set_transition_length(500);