ESP32 (Seeed Xiao-C3) moisture sensor - questions

Hello Everyone,

Let me prephase my post with that I am very new to ESPHome and microelectronics in general

I managed to put together a soil moisture sensor using the following components:

This is the code in ESPHome:
esphome:
  name: wifi-moisture-sensor
  friendly_name: Lawn Moisture Sensor
  on_boot:
    then:
      - switch.turn_on: sensor_power
  on_shutdown:
      then:
      - switch.turn_off: sensor_power

esp32:
  board: esp32-c3-devkitm-1
  framework:
    type: arduino

# Enable logging
logger:

# Enable Home Assistant API
api:
  encryption:
    key: "..."

ota:
  password: "..."

wifi:
  ssid: "..."
  fast_connect: on
  power_save_mode: LIGHT
  manual_ip:
   static_ip: x.x.x.x
   gateway: x.x.x.x
   subnet: x.x.x.x
   dns1: x.x.x.x

# Enable fallback hotspot (captive portal) in case wifi connection fails
  ap:
    ssid: "Lawn Moisture Sensor"

captive_portal:

sensor:
  - platform: adc
    pin: 
      number: 3
      allow_other_uses: True
    name: "Soil Surface Moisture Voltage"
    id: soil_surface_moisture_voltage
    update_interval: 2s
    attenuation: 11db
    pin: 
      number: 3
    name: "Soil Moisture"
    unit_of_measurement: "%"
    device_class: MOISTURE
    filters:
    - calibrate_linear: 
        - 1.75 ->  100.00 
        - 2.61 ->  0.00
    - lambda: |
       if (x < 0) return 0;
       else if (x > 100) return 100;
       else return (x);
    accuracy_decimals: 0

switch:
  - platform: gpio
    pin: GPIO10
    id: sensor_power
    internal: true

I did my sensor calibration and got ca. 1.75V submerged in a glass of water, ca. 2.61V out in dry air on room temperature. For now I am powering the Xiao via USB-C and using the 3v3 pin to connect the sensor’s VCC pin. This way the sensor works fine.

I am wondering about 2 things: