ESP8266 MAX7219 Message Board - HTTP and MQTT

This is not stricly an home assistant project but I wanted to share it here because it does integrate well and easily with home assistant.

It supports sending messages via HTTP and MQTT…

Anyway here it is: https://github.com/rdeangel/esp8266_max7219_rda_msg_board

I’ve been using it for a few months and it does what it sets out to do.
Please note: it is intended to be driven through automations so it doesn’t display anything on its own.

I might add clock (that can be turned on and off at some point), just so it’s not totally useless without automation but that was not its original purpose.

5 Likes

No demo video?

Very nice - there was one shared a couple of years ago but it hasn’t been updated since - possibly you could look at their MQTT code?

new version with configurable MQTT.

Does it support multiple LED modules or only 4?

You specificy the number of LED Modules at 01_shared.h line 4:

#define MAX_DEVICES 4

I did not try this myself though but if I change that to 3 only the first 3 are used.

Well thank you. I have a few loose LED modules here and wanted to try and compare it to the component above which works great including simple assembly.
I have a few questions, I know uploading esp modules using ESPhome in HA and ESPflesher using a bin file, but for this component I have no idea how and what to upload to nodemcu and using which program.
Could you give more details about the procedure and the activation of your component.
I’ve read the whole thread and git and I really don’t know how to get this up and running.

Sure you have a couple of options, starting from the release page you can either

1. download the precompiled binary esp8266_max7219_rda_msg_board_v2022.08.01.4m-nmcu.bin
    however this is not a very good option for you if you want to change the number of LED modules.
    I can precompile more bin files with different number of modules if you let me know how many you need.