ESP8266 -> PCA9685 -> partition -> groups of RGB possible?

Programming noob here. I’ve got some Arduino sketches up and running but that’s about it. Electronics-wise however, I do everything in the analog world at work and at home, “full-stack” analog development engineer if you could say that.

Girlfriend ordered a “raising rainbow over the horizon in the morning to wake me up gently”. No worries, a few meters of side-emitting RGB strip in “neon” configuration, some 3D-printing to make a holder on the wall for the entire contraption, a custom PCB for the MCU+LED driving and… software. My Achilles’ heel.

If it weren’t for the need to connect her schedule via Home Assistant to set the alarm time dynamically, I would have made it with an MCU with enough outputs of it’s own and done everything as an Arduino sketch as a stand-alone product. I’ve managed to make an ESP8266 connect to HA via MQTT for a single RGB group, but for this I need to create at least 7 RGB groups which HA will have individual access to (assuming the animation resides in HA).

Reading up on Light Partition — ESPHome, it seems possible with standard libraries, but I would like to ask if there are some software limitations I should be aware of before designing the boards, order and solder? Can one host expose 7 or more RGB groups to HA using ESPhome and the partition feature?

Hardware setup would ESP8266 → I2C → two PCA9685 at different addresses → at least 21 output channels, grouped as 7 RGB groups.

Fallback would be seven ESP8266 with WLED running on each. Crude, but would do the job.

Before I rebuilt my landscape lighting controller I used to use a pca9685 and had used 11 channels on it plus a 15’ ws2811 led strip and around 800 ws2811 led’s along my roof line. I ran all that without issues on an esp8266 NodeMCU.