ESPHome and Hyleton 313 Smart Plug

I need some help on ESPHome configuration for the Hyleton 313 Smart Plug. @Beantree posted a nice teardown and Tasmota instructions here 313.

I’ve managed to flash ESPHome on the Hyleton 313, it’s online on WiFi and OTA firmware upload is working. @beantree identifies the pins as follows:

Module pin ESP8266 pin Pin name Pin name ESP8266 pin Module pin
1 7 Chip Enable Tout (ADC) 6 2
3 9 MTMS / GPIO14 MTDI / GPIO12 10 4
5 12 MTCK / GPIO13 MTDO / GPIO15 13 6
7 15 GPIO0 GPIO2 14 8
9 16 GPIO4 GPIO5 24 10
11 25 U0RXD U0TXD 26 12
13 Vdd - - GND 14

I’ve tried to adapt the Sonoff S20 example s20 on esphome.io by swapping at pin assignments to–I think–the appropriate pins on the H313. Everything shows in HA, but nothing actually works.

This is my first time trying to configure a switch in ESPHome and my first time using the ESPHome API instead of MQTT. I’m also unsure whether I’ve got the GPIO mapping right.

My ESPHome configuration file is below.

Any help much appreciated.

substitutions:
  devicename: socket_consumer_unit_cupboard
  staticip: 192.168.xxx.xxx
  switchgpio: GPIO0
  switchname: "Consumer Unit Cupboard Switch"
  binarysensorgpio: GPIO12
  binarysensorname: "Consumer Unit Cupboard Switch Sensor"
  binarysensorstatusname: "Consumer Unit Cupboard Switch Status"
  ledgpio: GPIO13
  ledid: consumer_unit_cupboard_switch_led
  lightname: "Consumer Unit Cupboard Switch Green LED"

esphome:
  name: $devicename
  platform: ESP8266
  board: esp01_1m

wifi:
  ssid: !secret wifi_ssid
  password: !secret wifi_pwd
  manual_ip:
    static_ip: $staticip
    gateway: 192.168.xxx.xxx
    subnet: 255.255.255.0

# Enable logging
logger:

# Enable ESPHome API
api:

# Enable OTA firmware update
ota:

binary_sensor:
  - platform: gpio
    pin:
      number: $binarysensorgpio
      mode: INPUT_PULLUP
      inverted: True
    name: $binarysensorname
    on_press:
      - switch.toggle: relay
  - platform: status
    name: $binarysensorstatusname